Pinky Rani

Assistant Professor (Guest Faculty)

Department of Economics

Maharaja College

Veer Kunwar Singh University, Ara Class: B.A. Economics (Part-2nd)

Paper: 03

Topic: Structure and Objective of NABARD

Date: 06-02-2024

## Structure of NABARD

## Board of Directors

- NABARD's affairs are governed by a **Board of Directors**.
   The Board of Directors are appointed by the Government of India in consonance with NABARD Act. It is constituted of following:
- The Chairperson,
- 3 directors from amongst experts in
- rural economics,
- rural development,
- village and cottage industries,
- small-scale industries,
- or persons having experience in the working of cooperative banks, regional rural banks or commercial banks,
- or any other matter the special knowledge or professional experience which is considered by the Central Government as useful to the National Bank,
- 3 directors from out of the directors of the Reserve Bank,

- 3 directors from amongst the officials of the Central Government,
- 4 directors from amongst the officials of the State Government,
- such number of directors elected in the prescribed manner, by shareholders other than the Reserve Bank, the Central Government and other institutions owned or controlled by the Central Government,
- The Managing Director,
- The Chairperson and other directors (except elected ones by share-holders and officials of the Central Government) shall be appointed by the Central Government in consultation with the RBI.
- Executive Committees
- The Board of Directors may constitute an Executive
  Committee consisting of such number of directors (called
  Executive Director) as may be prescribed.
- The Executive Committee shall discharge such functions as may be prescribed or may be delegated to it by the Board.

## **Objective of NABARD**

Important objectives of NABARD are as follows:

- Promotion of Agriculture and Rural Development by provision of financial support and institutional development.
- Facilitation of credit in agriculture by refinances commercial banks, regional rural banks and others.
- 3. Institutional development.
- 4. Promotion of rural infrastructure development
- 5. Promotion of sustainable agriculture

\*\*\*\*\*